Check out our 2024 Corporate Sustainability Report!

Crane Hot Line

New Leaders of Safety Professionals’ Association Take Office July 1


May 10, 2021 - The American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP), the world’s oldest professional safety organization, has elected new leaders for 2021-2022. All of their terms begin July 1. Bradley Giles will serve as ASSP president for 2021-22.

“I’m always impressed by our dedicated volunteers and their desire to take on key leadership positions,” said ASSP President Deborah Roy, whose term ends June 30. “Engaged safety professionals define our society, keeping it vibrant and advancing worker safety and health.”

ASSP’s top elected positions – all part of its board of directors – are president, president-elect, senior vice president, vice president of finance, and directors-at-large. Each is a one-year term, except for the three-year terms of the vice president of finance and directors-at-large. The succession of leaders from senior vice president to president-elect, and from president-elect to president, is automatic.

Following are snapshots of ASSP’s newly elected leaders, whose influence and contributions will help shape the society and the profession while sustaining the organization as a global leader for workplace safety and health.

President Bradley Giles is principal of Bradley Giles and Associates. He has more than 40 years of experience in the safety, health, environmental and security disciplines. Giles was named an ASSP Fellow in 2010 for his significant contributions to the profession. He earned a master’s degree in education from Southern Illinois University. An ASSP member since 1981, Giles lives in New Meadows, Idaho.

President-Elect Christine Sullivan is senior vice president and risk control director at Sompo International. She has 30 years of safety experience and holds a bachelor’s degree in human factors engineering from Tufts University. Her Society honors include the Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award. An ASSP member since 1996, Sullivan will be Society president in 2022-23. She lives in Glastonbury, Connecticut.

Senior Vice President James Thornton is former EHS director at Huntington Ingalls Industries, the nation’s largest military shipbuilder. He is an ASSP Fellow who holds a bachelor’s degree in aerospace engineering from Auburn University and a master’s degree in industrial hygiene from Texas A&M University. An ASSP member since 1998, Thornton will be president in 2023-24. He lives in Hampton, Virginia.

Director-At-Large Tim Page-Bottorff is a senior consultant at SafeStart who began his safety career nearly 30 years ago as a U.S. marine. He is a safety trainer, author and motivational speaker. He lectures for Central Washington University and the OSHA Training Institute at the University of California San Diego Extension. He was ASSP’s 2018 Safety Professional of the Year. A member since 2001, he resides in Mesa, Arizona.

Director-At-Large Daniel Snyder is founder and owner of Safety Mentor. His safety career includes 30 years of consulting, training, research and creating sustainable solutions. He holds a master’s degree in human resource development and a doctorate degree in adult and lifelong learning from the University of Arkansas. An ASSP member since 2005, Snyder is also a speaker and author residing in Nixa, Missouri.

Joining these five leaders on ASSP’s 2021-22 board of directors are Vice President of Finance Linda Tapp and Directors-At-Large Maribeth Anderson and Thomas Kramer. A successor to outgoing Public Director Anil Mathur is expected to be named by early summer.

Candidates for the board must be professional members who possess specific qualifications. The criteria include involvement in an ASSP committee or task force, a record of positive contributions to the occupational safety and health profession, support and understanding of the Society’s vision, and being an effective motivator who is results driven. Find a complete list of the Society’s election results on the ASSP website.


Crane Hot Line is part of the Catalyst Communications Network publication family.