Check out our 2024 Corporate Sustainability Report!

Crane Hot Line

Safety Pros Honor Outgoing President Stegall for Leadership

July 14, 2020 - The American Society of Safety Professionals has honored outgoing president Diana Stegall for exceptional leadership that helped meet the extraordinary challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The board presented Stegall an engraved glass carving and commemorative book reflecting on her 12-month term that ended June 30.

“Diana has been a resolute leader, demonstrating resilience in the face of adversity and providing trusted guidance to our board and 40,000 members when we needed it most,” said new ASSP President Deborah Roy, whose term began July 1. “We are immensely grateful for her exemplary service and many contributions to ASSP.”

The biggest challenge was the transition of ASSP’s annual professional development conference and exposition from an in-person event to a virtual experience accessible anywhere. Under Stegall’s leadership, ASSP delivered an online version of its signature event that drew nearly 2,400 professionals – the largest virtual gathering of its kind.

At the time, Stegall said: “ASSP adapts to the changing world of work to support the occupational safety and health profession no matter the global circumstances.”

Early in the pandemic, Stegall created a weekly video series called “Working Together for Safety.” The 2-minute segments summarized the latest workplace safety and health news for the professional community and helped her establish a personal connection with ASSP members. She recorded the videos in a makeshift home studio.

“The best leaders take personal ownership during a crisis, even when it may seem like everything is spinning out of control,” said ASSP CEO Jennifer McNelly. “Diana’s calm and consistent assurance spoke volumes to her ability to navigate forward. Her experience and focus ensured that all of us spent our time on the right things.”

Stegall is executive vice president of Arizona-based Rivendell Safety Consulting and has been an ASSP member since 1990. She was the first woman named ASSP’s Safety Professional of the Year in 2005 and is a two-time recipient of the Society’s Charles V. Culbertson Outstanding Volunteer Service Award.

Board members praised Stegall for her leadership style and accomplishments during her final meeting at the end of June. Director-at-Large Joel Haight thanked her for “upholding the good strong name of the American Society of Safety Professionals during these challenging times,” while Director-at-Large Thomas Kramer applauded her commitment to the profession. “Diana is a passionate safety professional who has encouraged me and countless others in our industry to be the best safety professionals we can be,” he said.

Director-at-Large Pamela Walaski said, “I remember seeing Diana years ago at a regional operating committee meeting and thinking, ‘Wow, she truly has a dynamic spirit and passion for our Society.’ That was inspirational to me. I have continued to watch her hard work over time and it certainly has motivated me to elevate my game. I know others feel the same way.”


Crane Hot Line is part of the Catalyst Communications Network publication family.